Dubai Mammoths win DCC 4th Silver Challenge Title

Dec 30,2018

Dubai Mammoths win DCC 4th Silver Challenge Title
Dubai Mammoths win DCC 4th Silver Challenge Title | Anywhere |

Event Overview

Dubai Mammoths win DCC 4th Silver Challenge Title

DUBAI: Dubai Mammoths were runaway winners of the Dubai Cricket Council’s 4th Silver Challenge tournament after they thrashed Roaring Lions by 133 runs in a one-sided final at the Sevens ground in Dubai on Monday.

The Roaring Lions captain may have lost the plot after he won the toss and asked Dubai Mammoths to bat first as they went on to post a massive total of 258 for 7.

The start Ranjeet Chavan and Man of the Match Sheridan Hadfield gave Mammoths was a clear indication of things to come for the Lions. The openers were inseparable till 107 runs until Ranjeet (45 off 32 balls with six fours) became Deepak Nicholas first victim.

Deepak had a hand in one-down batsman Prajakat Chouhan’s (4) runout and Mammoths were 112 for 2.

But another solid 66-run partnership between Sheridan and Janaka Chaturanga saw Mammoths race to 178 for 3 with Janaka playing a superb cameo of 56 runs from just 27 balls which came from three sixes and five fours before he became Deepak’s second victim.

Sheridan continued to flay the Lions attack to all parts of the park and when he got out to Player of the Tournament Rajeeb Naug he had done enough damage to the Lions morale.

His match winning 74 came from only 44 balls and had a six and 10 fours.

Sheldon D’Cruz chipped in with an invaluable 24 from 16 balls with a six and two fours. Ricky Kosla had miserly bowling figures of 3 for 13 but it was too late as Mammoths raced to a massive total.

Sadly for the Lions only Shibu James (37 not out) and Hashim Ahmed (23) tried to battle it out in the middle against some superb bowling from Sajjad Gul (2-28), Lucky Abbas (2-28), Shiva Pagarani (2-23) and Prajakat Chouhan (2-17).

At the end of the double-round-robin league Farooq CC ran away with the Best Batsman (Vriitya Aravind) and Best Bowler (Aryan Lakra) awards and Farooq CC had Rajeeb Naug bagging the Player of the Tournament award but Dubai Mammoths won the overall honours.

Brief scores (final): Dubai Mammoths beat Roaring Lions by 133 runs

Dubai Mammoths 258 for 7 in 25 overs (Sheridan Hadfield 74, Janaka Chaturanga 56, Ranjeet Chavan 45, Sheldon D’Cruz 24;Ricky Kosla 3-13, Deepak Nicholas 2-60) Roaring Lions 125 for 9 in 25 overs (Shibu James 37 n.o., Hashim Ahmed 23; Sajjad Gul 2-28, Lucky Abbas 2-28, Shiva Pagarani 2-23, Prajakat Chouhan 2-17). Man of the Match: Sheridan Hadfield of Dubai Mammoths.

Other winners

Best batsman: Vriitya Aravind of Farooq CC (10 matches, 545 runs).

Best bowler: Aryan Lakra of Farooq CC (8 matches, 11 wickets).

Player of the Tournament: Rajeeb Naug of Roaring Lions (10 matches, 228 runs and nine wickets).

Dubai Mammoths win DCC 4th Silver Challenge Title

About Dubai Mammoths win DCC 4th Silver Challenge Title

Dubai Mammoths win DCC 4th Silver Challenge Title

Ticket Information

  • #paid

When & Where

  • From:Jan 5, 2019,10:00 AM
  • To:
  • Location: Online Event

Share This Event